#IVoted… Did you?

There wasn’t a traffic jam.. There wasn’t a line.. St Luke’s Parish Center was empty except for a few dedicated volunteers taking ID’s and handling the sign-in. 

It was quite a change from that now-infamous Richland County debacle.. I waited in line for a few hours to cast my ballot that afternoon. Didn’t mind, given the sacrifice made through the generations for the right to vote. Least I could do was wind through Olympia School’s gym and wait my turn. 

Granted that was a big election, and most people turn out for those– especially in a presidential year. 

But folks.. Really…

We need *desperately* to understand– as a democratic society– we MUST cast ballots as an informed citizenry in every election. Yes, every election…

I recently explained my role as a Public Policy director to a friend of mine. I told her from the moment she woke up to having electricity, to clean water to make coffee, running water to brush her teeth, a road to take a morning jog, uncontaminated food to have for breakfast (and so on…)– Public Policy and government decisions affect just about every little minute detail of your existence. Protecting that for our citizens and business community is a JOY! 

Is this the time that I say, tsk tsk to my neighbors in Beaufort County for our 12.4% voter turnout? Eeek. Not cool. 

Voting will never be mandatory like paying your taxes… But what a sheer privilege. Even a SMALL primary is a BIG deal! Our political leaders make SO many decisions on policy for you and your family. Love that those who won’t vote will be the first to complain and belly ache about our political system.

If you won’t take it from me… Perhaps the veteran taking my voter registration card yesterday at the precinct could encourage you to cast that ballot next time you have the chance? I looked at him, proud to be a free American.. A voter. 

See at the polls for the run-offs 🙂 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment